2023 NBRHOF Induction Awards Oct. 7th Atlanta, Ga.  Red Carpet Hightlights and Awards Presentations




arry Steele 2023 Induction Program Administrator




National Black Radio Hall of Fame 2023 Induction Program Announcement



This inclusion of Nominations and Ballots is a Members Only Managed Division of the National Black Radio Hall of Fame


October 7, 2023 will be an “Evening To Remember” as Industry Members are Inducted into the National Black Radio Hall of Fame to be held in Atlanta, Ga.  Nominations were sent in earlier this year and the electronic ballots have been counted.  National Black Radio Hall of Fame President Bernie Hayes and 2nd VP and Atlanta Chapter President Marsha Washington George have approved the submission of names from Chairperson “Hurricane Dave” Smith and have given him the authority to proceed with the orchestration of the program with the Induction Program Administrator Larry Steele for the 2023 Inductees.

With well over 100 nomination submissions after the final ballot count these are the Inductees for 2023.  Their names will be placed in the Museum at Harris Stowe State University with former industry Inductees. Please Congratulate your peers on receiving this honor.

*special note: a few names that were submitted as nominees had already been inducted and therefore were omitted. 


2023 inductees of the National Black Radio Hall of Fame

Talented Sisters of Radio – Terri Avery, Monica May, Denise Williams

Talented Brothers of Radio – Ray Boyd, Marvin Ross, Frank Ski

Gospel Radio Personality – Erica Campbell, Reggie Gay, Melvin Jones

African American Station Owner – Sheila Brown, Mike Carter

Radio Station Promotions – Christine Cunningham

Record Pool Distributors – TJ’sDJ’s, Franchise Record Pool

Talk Radio Personality – Jeff Foxx, Juandolyn Stokes

Community Service Industry Award – Chris “Ludacris” Bridges

Hip Hop Radio Personality Award – Big Tigger

House Music Pioneer Award – DJ Fast Eddie

Talented Sisters of Blues Radio Award – Bunny “Bubbling” Brown Sugar

Talented Brothers of Blues Radio Award – Tom Davis Dr. Love

Radio Music Career Artist of the year – Gladys Knight and the Pips

Lifetime Media Achievement Award – Tom Joyner

The Broadcasters Chairman’s Leadership Award – David Linton

The Original 13 Pioneer Award Inductees – Terry Bello, Earl Boston, Marcus “Doc Feelgood” Boyd, Steve Crumbley, Bruce Demps, Kevin Koolin Fox,  John H. “Little Daddy” Hill, III, Patty Jackson, Charles Mitchell, BJ Murphy, Sharon Seay, Reec Swiney, Art Terrell.

The Posthumous Award – Doug Banks, Mayme and Dave Bondu, Paul E.X. Brown, Leonard Tippy Calloway, Frankie Crocker, Charles Evers, Wayman “Slack” Johnson, Rod “Dr. Jockenstine” King, James “Alley Pat” Patrick, Chico Renfroe, Sr., Joe “Butterball” Tamburro, Larry L. Williams


Special Inductions and Awards from our National President Mr. Bernie Hayes

Special Induction Recognition will be given to John Long of the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame.

Special Induction Recognition will be given to Ramona Debreaux 2022 Inductee

Special R&B Musical Sisters Lifetime Achievement Award to Shirley Jones of the Jones Girls.

Special Induction Recognition will be given to Uvee Hayes.

Special Award Recognition to Michael P. McMillan - President and CEO Urban League of Metropolitan St. Louis

Special Award Recognition on behalf of the Don & Heide Wolff Jazz Institute to Ronald Carter - Founder and CEO at Carter's Jazz Clinics Inc. LLC.

Special Award Recognition to DJ Eddie Thomas - Atlanta for the U.S. Veteran Radio Pioneer.

Special Award Recognition for Community Service to Herman H. Johnson











Print | Sitemap
© National Black Radio Hall of Fame - 2016